Tags

,

LIPA is hosting its first webinar, Digitization Is Possible:  Identifying & Overcoming Barriers, on Friday, February 6, 2015 at 2:00 EST (1:00 CST, 12:00 MST, 11:00 PST).  Led by Valeri Craigle from the University of Utah and Erik Beck from the University of Colorado, the webinar will focus on three topic areas:  collection development; digitization; and digital asset management.

Following a brief introduction, an interactive format will be used to make this training relevant for all. Participants will be polled about their perceptions of the most significant barriers in each topic category.  Results of the poll will steer discussion, leading at the end to a specific tool participants can use to overcome the barriers.  For example, if the audience poll indicates that one barrier to developing a digital collection is not having a metadata standard to work with, the discussion will be directed toward a brief summary of metadata standards and participants will receive an actual metadata standard from the toolkit to take home with them.

There is no charge for the webinar, and it is open to all who are interested (up to a 100 person maximum). RSVP to Margie Maes (mkmaes@gmail.com) no later than Feb. 5, 2015 to receive the connection instructions. The webinar will be hosted on Adobe Connect.  The webinar will be recorded and posted on the LIPA website, along with the toolkit.